Friday, July 23rd, 2010, 03:16 WIB
On October 6, 2006, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between three Rectors from Gadjah Mada University, State Islamic University Sunan Kalijaga (UIN), and Duta Wacana Christian University (UKDW) was signed. The ceremony took place at the Sultan’s Palace in which Sri Sultan Hamengku Buwono X, the Governor of Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta served as the witness. Based on this agreement, the three universities agreed to establish a consortium which became known as the Indonesian Consortium for Religious Studies (ICRS-Yogya) located in and accredited by the Graduate School of Gadjah Mada University. ICRS-Yogya is part of the Graduate Program in Religious and Cross-cultural Studies at UGM that includes an M.A. program called CRCS (Center for Religious and Cross Cultural Studies).

After ten years of experience within Gadjah Mada University’s Graduate school, CRCS proved successful. This success could be seen through the teaching and guidance of Master Program students in the study of religions strongly supported by and in close cooperation with lecturers of Gadjah Mada University and other universities, such as State Islamic University Sunan Kalijaga (UIN), and Duta Wacana Christian University (UKDW).

Based on this context, the idea emerged to establish and build a single integrative and interdisciplinary Ph.D. program in religious studies between Muslim, Christian and “secular” universities. The Post Graduate program that resulted from this idea is a consortium of three higher education institutions with the name of ICRS-Yogya. ICRS-Yogya is supported and legitimated by the Rectors of Gadjah Mada University, State Islamic University Sunan Kalijaga (UIN), and Duta Wacana Christian University (UKDW).

The highest governing body of  ICRS-Yogya  is  the  ICRS-Yogya  Board  of Trustees  (Majelis  Konsorsium).  The Board of Trustees is directly appointed by the Rectors of the three  universities and consists  of  13  members, including 4 representatives of each university who are appointed by the Rectors of their universities. The members of the Board of Trustees include;
Prof. Dr. Bernard Adeney-Risakotta, (ICRS-Yogya); Prof. Dr. Achmad Mursyudi (UGM); Prof, Dr. Irwan Abdullah (UGM); Dr. Zainal Abidin Bagir (UGM); Dr. Wening Udasmoro (UGM); Prof. Dr. Banawiratma (UKDW); Prof. Dr. E. Gerrit Singgih (UKDW); Dr. Jeanny Dhewayani (UKDW); Dr. Yahya Wijaya (UKDW); Prof. Dr. Iskandar Zulkarnain (UIN SK); Prof. Dr. M. Machasin (UIN SK); Dr. Fatimah Husein (UIN SK); Dr. Sekar Ayu Aryani(UIN SK).

Prof. Dr. Bernard Adeney-Risakotta was chosen as the founding Director of ICRS-Yogya. He was assigned by UKDW to UGM for a period of three years, to serve as the full-time Director of ICRS-Yogya.  He remains on the faculty of UKDW and continues  to  teach  in  the  Graduate  Programs  of  all  three  universities (UGM, UIN Sunan Kalijaga and UKDW).
Now in the year 2010, ICRS-Yogya has had 38 students coming from both Indonesia and abroad Students from abroad come from countries including China, The Philippines, The United States, Egypt, Serbia, Poland, and Singapore. For the academic year 2010/2011, ICRS-Yogya received 40 applicants from Indonesia and 5 foreign applicants from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Myanmar, China and The United States. With a faculty including 30 Doctoral, 13 Professors and 12 Staff, ICRS-Yogya is a qualified international Graduate Program in Inter- Religious Studies. Recently, ICRS-Yogya has also developed and implemented some programs, which focus on social responsibility through events such as seminars, workshops, art performances, inter-religious conferences and relations.